Elizabeth Wesley winners recognized for achievement (2007-2008)

Forty-six high school students and a counselor from Emerald Ridge High received special recognition during the 12th annual Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program.


The program was created to recognize and honor African American youth in grades nine through 11 for academic excellence, community involvement, and good citizenship.

The Tacoma Urban League recognized the students in a ceremony and reception last month, and the Puyallup School Board will celebrate their success at the November

26 meeting.

Mariano Leon-Guerrero, a counselor at Emerald Ridge High School, received the  

first-ever “Drum Major” award for his “behind-the-scenes good work in increasing the

number of African American students from your school who are recipients, and your positive, energetic leadership in implementing the program.” He received a plaque and $250 cash award.


The following student winners, listed below by the school they attended last year, received recognition for their achievements during the 2006-07 school year:

Ballou Junior High: Azja Campbell-Williams, Michelle McCormick

Ferrucci Junior High: Jared Burt, Marissa Davis, Roderick Watkins II, Phillip Woods

Stahl Junior High: Bryton Choates, Jasmine Griffin-Russell, Kimberly Holmes, Dandia Johnson, Dorian Maine, Shanakia Porter, Jocelyn Pugh, Camille Saxton, Dionisio Wilkins


Emerald Ridge High: Abdalla Abdalla, Lauren Armstrong, Zachary Burnley, Dishorn Callam, Samantha Fikilini, Yosef Gamble, Tiara Gero, Denishea Hughes, Nasia Mead, Jolessa Moore, Samantha Moss, Alicia Raymond, Lynsey Urquhart, Dominique Waters


Puyallup High School: Erika Odem, Elizabeth Reeves, I.V. Reeves, III, Desiree Roberts, Nathan Swanson, Nick Swanson

Rogers High School: Nicolas Addison, Allegra Antwine, Arin Carpenter, Jasmyne Casey-De Leon, Tranecia Celestine,Catrina Celestine, La Toya Fryer-Miner, JakailaLangston, Stephanie Lincoln-Baines, Le’Fondria Scroggins,Brittney Williams

The awards program is named for Elizabeth Wesley, a civic leader active in the founding of the Tacoma Urban League. Each of the student winners receives $350.

Emerald Ridge High student Samantha Moss and Rogers High students Arin Carpenter and Nicolas Addison also won $1,000 scholarships. Additionally, Moss was chosen as the student speaker during the September awards ceremony based on an essay she submitted with her application.